To New Beginnings

As one door closes, another one opens. What has been about a year in the making is finally happening. April 28th, aka D-Day came a lot sooner than I had expected it to. One moment I was on a plane to San Francisco, the next I m home and getting my pack ready for Australia. It’s crazy and exciting to think that I’ll literally be living out of my pack for the next year. This journey away from home was about more than just travelling. It was also about personal growth, experiences and just learning to figure things out on my own.

Image

My life on my back. It’s crazy to think that everything you need fits neatly into a backpack.

Many goodbyes were had with the entourage of family and friends who came to send me off. I will forever be grateful for the amazing people that I have in my life. The reality of being away took a while to hit me. I think the full realization that this was a reality happened the moment I entered the security gates and knew that there was no turning back. It was both a daunting and overwhelming thought.

Image

 

You guys are awesome! Thanks for sending me off 🙂

Getting to my departure gate was pretty standard..it was the stop in between that was awesome. The Maple Leaf Lounge was pretty sweet. Complimentary booze AND food?! Count me in. Two glasses of wine later and I was at the departing gate—gate 52.

Image

The amazing Maple Leaf Lounge

Stepping through those gates meant I was stepping into a whole new life, to a new beginning. I don’t know what lies ahead for me, but I do know that I will be faced with challenges and amazing new experiences. Join me on my journey down under.

Edit: I should add that Australia has horrible access to wifi. Many cafés do not have wifi. The hostel that I am staying at charges for wifi and so I may not be posting as frequently as I had originally hoped. No worries, I’ll still be updating my blog as much as possible…I know ya’ll are living vicariously though me 😛

9 thoughts on “To New Beginnings

  1. Veronica says:

    Safe travels, Celiner! I hope you have an amazing experience! I’ll be checking in with your blog regularly! FB me if you need anything! 🙂 xo

    1. celina says:

      Thanks Veronica 🙂 It’ll definitely be an experience. Excited for when you come down as well, will need to meet up!

  2. Oh yeah, I am most definitely living vicariously through you 😛 Stay safe C!
    P.S. What is this Maple Leaf Lounge!?!? COMPLIMENTARY BOOZE & FOOD WHAT!? Must be new..? I did not see this when I went to Asia last year… 😥

    1. celina says:

      haha…yes do that. or come find me down under!
      i don’t think it’s new…i was given a coupon to enter it and yeah..there was free booze and food. it was amazing 😛

Leave a Reply

